She Was The First

berries during run

On Tuesday morning, while enjoying a nice run (yes, I said enjoying), I found myself not really thinking about anything important. I was taking in the crisp fall morning, the bright sunshine (reminding me I should have worn my sunglasses) and the sound of my music playing. But as I got further into my run, my mind started to head down some funny bunny trails. Do you ever have those moments? Where you think of something completely random and one things leads to another and you’re thinking of the creation of the original Barbie Doll in 1959?

Just me? Oh, Okay.

Seriously, that is where my mind wandered. All of a sudden, I started thinking, ya know, I’m pretty sure when Barbie was created, that’s when girls (and women) began doubting their appearances. I mean, what woman doesn’t want that perfect waist, perfectly sculpted face and long flowing hair?

And as my mind dove deeper into that, and the Holy Spirit began to reign in my thoughts, I found myself thinking, actually, 1959 is probably not when women began doubting how they looked and who they were.

It all started with Eve.

She was the first.

The first to doubt she was enough just the way God created her.

The first to put the blame on someone else for her lack of trust in God.

The first to feel the shame and regret of her choices because of her disobedience.

The first to look in the mirror and hide the sacred beauty God lavished on her.

Sadly, many of us, are just like Eve. We would rather listen to taunting lies and whispers of the enemy of how God is withholding something from us or how we aren’t good enough or how we’ll never have that “perfect body.” And when we believe those lies, that’s when we eat the fruit. That’s when we betray the heart of the living God who loves us beyond anything we can comprehend.

But, you know what? We’re better than that. The great thing about the grace of God and the truth of his word, is that in those dark moments, he comes alongside us, wraps his arms around us, and whispers to our hearts that we are enough.

That we are his.

That we are loved beyond anything we can imagine.

And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God. (Eph. 3:18-19)

So this is the hope I cling to today. I am thankful that in the midst of doubting who God has created me to be, I can hear his beautiful voice whispering that I am complete; that I am his beautiful daughter;  and that with Christ in my heart, there is nothing that can separate me from his love.

Leave a Reply

