Rain On My Parade

Do you ever have those days when you really want to do something, but all signs point to no?

The past two days have been that way for me.

Yesterday, I wanted to go running. Had my shoes on; got my playlist ready, looked outside, and it started to rain.

Today, while Dustin was at a guys’ event at church, I wanted to take the kids to the local Fall Festival. Had the diaper bag packed; kids in the car; was one turn away from the festival, when, again, it started to rain.

It’s funny how God uses whatever is necessary to tell us to rest and calm down. There I was, wanting to do, do, do, and He was beckoning me in to just breathe and be.

So, yesterday, instead of running, I relaxed and enjoyed some cuddle time with this lovely.

10087032615_ee295ed96a_o

Today, I turned the car around, came back home, and allowed this little man to dive into his creative side and then enjoyed a lovely lunch of soup and grilled cheese with him.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Even though my plans didn’t work out the way I originally planned, I was still blessed by the time and events that were placed before me. My run didn’t happen yesterday, but it happened early this morning (which meant I was able to enjoy a beautiful sunrise). The kiddos and I didn’t get a chance to enjoy a creative community event, but we were able to enjoy some creative time together in the comfort of our home.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

And now, as I sit here on the couch, enjoying a cup of warm coffee and listening to the soft pitter-patter of rain outside, I am reminded of how beyond blessed I am when I really soak up and breathe in every moment.

3 thoughts on “Rain On My Parade

  1. Sarah,
    I read your blog shared by your mom on Twitter while I was working on Theology homework and read this verse, Proverbs 16:9 “We can make plans, but The Lord determines our steps.” Isn’t it awesome that he is in control! Enjoy reading your blogs – keep it going!
    Samantha

Leave a Reply

